Carl T. Solberg Award

In addition to its regular scholarships, the Fund has established the Carl T. Solberg Award. Candidates do not apply directly for this award. Rather the Fund may, when appropriate, identify an individual from among a year's pool of applicants who seems to exemplify the attributes associated with the award.

Carl T. Solberg

The Solberg Award was created by the Fund to honor Carl Solberg for his service, his guidance and his dedication. In 1996, Carl T. Solberg retired as President of the Fund. At the time, Carl had given nearly 40 years of service to the Fund beginning by consulting with the founders about its very inception. During his long term as President and Board member, he provided not only continuity but also the enormous energy and tireless commitment that enabled this remarkable enterprise to survive far beyond the mission originally envisioned by Albert and Toni Roothbert. Carl continued until his death in 2003 to contribute to the Fund as its Secretary and as "chief fanner of the flame" of fellowship among the nearly 1000 fellows who have benefited from the founders' generous vision during his lifetime.

By vocation, Carl was a journalist whose career at Time, Inc. included stints on the Latin America desk and the Middle East desk at Time magazine and at Time-Life Books. During the Time years he contributed cover stories on many political leaders including David Ben Gurion, Gamal Abdul Nasser, Harold MacMillan and Nikita Khrushchev. Later, as a freelancer, Carl wrote, among other things, books on the Cold War, the politics of oil, a history of American aviation, a biography of his fellow Minnesotan, Hubert H. Humphrey, and an account of his experiences during World War II with Admiral William Halsey in the Battle of Leyte Gulf in the South Pacific.

The Carl Solberg Award is funded not by capital left by the founders, but by a special account established for that purpose with donations from over 100 Roothbert Fellows. The authorizing resolution provides that the Award will be given from time to time to students of history or journalism who demonstrate the diversity of interests and the breadth of mind that characterize Carl Solberg, or students who have rendered unusual service to the Fund, and who otherwise exhibit those characteristics that typify the Roothbert Fellow. The first Solberg Award was granted in 1998.